Notes from Sunday’s Sermon: “Margin”

jordantmoody —  August 4, 2013 — Leave a comment

Today’s sermon gripped my heart to start doing less in order to do more. Oftentimes, I think of my life in additions void of subtraction. I consistently seek to add more and more without considering the “necessary” percentages of life. What do I need and what is truly most important.

Luke 10:41-42 — But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Here are some notes I took from the sermon I heard this morning. I think superficially the concept of margin is something most of us think is easy to do but hard to implement when life gets busy. I mean how hard is it to take naps?! Well, when life gets busy and we get stressed it is because we are allowing life to take control of us rather than letting God take control of our lives. Oftentimes, letting God take control is understanding our own limitations and His own

Margin: the space between our pace and our limits

Life without margin is stress, jam-packed, and busy. This kind of life will ultimately rob us of our joy.

Life is better with margin built into it.

Ecc. 4:4- Life is rivalry between man and his neighbor. It is vanity and striving after the wind.

Imbalance is two hands full of work rather than one hand full or rest and one hand of work. Balance is key.

Mary and Martha– What is necessary?

Martha- distracted with important things

Mary- focused on the MOST important things

Biblical margin includes God

Elijah- I Kings 19:4– victory on Mt. Caramel, suicidal thoughts, margin needed, recharged through alone time with God

Jesus- Matt. 14:22-23 –, Matt 11:28-30– all who are “weary” = I will give you rest.

We need to pursue God in our lives giving him our time rather than always trying to do more at work, home, and for ourselves.

Standard of Living vs. Quality of Life

Stop using the excuse, I don’t have time” when it comes to church, family, and God. Make time for what is important. Don’t forget that rest and recharging with God is important. Naps and downtime is important. We are not made by God to run around like a chicken with our heads cut off.

When was the last time you took time to simply rid yourself of distractions and get alone with God.

Here are some takeaways:

Do I regularly get alone with my wife?

Do I regularly spend time with my family?

Do I constantly bring work home with me?

Is this pace of life regular or just for a season?

How can I start resting in faith rather than stressing for strength?

jordantmoody

Posts

I'm a Pastor/Teaching Elder at Hope Fellowship Church in New Ipswich, NH.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply or Comment

