God’s Anger: For Us!

bobbyemberley —  March 7, 2013 — 1 Comment
I am amazed to realize that the terrible and awesome description of God in these verses is a result of God’s anger against David’s enemies. God was moved emotionally and volitionally because of opposition to His chosen king. I think there is application for me too. Since I am one of God’s children, chosen and redeemed, God’s anger is roused not against me but in my defense.
Psalm 18:6-17
6In my distress I called upon the Lord;
to my God I cried for help.
From his temple he heard my voice,
and my cry to him reached his ears.
7Then the earth reeled and rocked;
the foundations also of the mountains trembled
and quaked, because he was angry.
8Smoke went up from his nostrils,
and devouring fire from his mouth;
glowing coals flamed forth from him.
9He bowed the heavens and came down;
thick darkness was under his feet.
10He rode on a cherub and flew;
he came swiftly on the wings of the wind.
11He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him,
thick clouds dark with water.
12Out of the brightness before him
hailstones and coals of fire broke through his clouds.
13The Lord also thundered in the heavens,
and the Most High uttered his voice,
hailstones and coals of fire.
14And he sent out his arrows and scattered them;
he flashed forth lightnings and routed them.
15Then the channels of the sea were seen,
and the foundations of the world were laid bare
at your rebuke, O Lord,
at the blast of the breath of your nostrils.
16He sent from on high, he took me;
he drew me out of many waters.
17He rescued me from my strong enemy
and from those who hated me,
for they were too mighty for me.
One response to God’s Anger: For Us!

  1. 

    It is comforting to picture it almost like a Dad who is jealous for His son’s success on the sports field. Dad’s get furious in a very unrighteous way to often but here in this Psalm God’s wrath is righteous anger towards a rebellious people. My heavenly Father will defend me when I am challenged.

Leave a Reply or Comment

