Psalm 50

jordantmoody —  February 20, 2013 — Leave a comment

In the Dublin Christian Academy guys dorm we have been using YWAM Prayer Journals for our devotions and prayer group discussion time. Oftentimes, I feel as if the Psalms are hit or miss for me and today in Psalm 50 I thought today was a miss, a big fat one. But when I started talking it over with the guys I was proven quite wrong.

Themes in Psalm 50

Power and peace are contrasted. 

Out of Zion,the perfection of beauty, 

God shines forth

Our God comes; he does not keep silence;

before him a devouring fire,

around him a mighty tempest. 

The stars display God’s purity and righteous character.

The heavens declare his righteousness,

for God himself is judge.

Cain and Abel are alluded to through the ingenuous sacrifices of the Israelite’s.

I am God, your God

Not for your sacrifices do I rebuke you;

your burnt offerings are continually before me.

I will not accept a bull from your house

God is the ultimate all-knowing  judge and he will not keep silent about our rebuke for any longer. We will all be judged one day. 

These things you have done, and I have been silent

you thought that I was one like yourself

But now I rebuke you and lay the charge before you.

The one who offers a sacrifice of thanksgiving with a mind of willingness and genuine faith glorifies God and salvation will be given as his reward.

The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me;

to one who orders his way rightly

I will show the salvation of God!

 

 

 

jordantmoody

Posts

I'm a Pastor/Teaching Elder at Hope Fellowship Church in New Ipswich, NH.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply or Comment

