WEEK 5 ~ 1 & 2 Thessalonians

jordantmoody —  October 8, 2012 — 5 Comments

This week your Online Bible Study assignment is to read 1&2 Thessalonians.

Also, remember to comment on last weeks assignment post Mark 12-16 to discuss with us how your study went and what you learned.

jordantmoody

Posts

I'm a Pastor/Teaching Elder at Hope Fellowship Church in New Ipswich, NH.

5 responses to WEEK 5 ~ 1 & 2 Thessalonians

  1. 

    I was challenged by I Thessalonians 1:6 this week. The verse says that the Thessalonians became imitators of Paul and the apostles. Then it says what exactly it was that they imitated. They received the Word in much affliction. They were impacted by Paul’s attitude towards the Word and his attitude towards difficulty. So, I have been thinking of how this applies to those I desire to be an example to. Am I an example in the way I receive God’s Word? Am I an example in the way I handle difficulty? I think this passage shows us that at least these two things impact people. They made a difference in the lives of the Thessalonians, and I think they can make a difference in the lives of those we are discipling as well.

    • 

      Even in 2 Thess. 3:7 — For you yourselves know how you ought to imitate us, because we were not idle when we were with you…
      Paul was so confident in his testimony, he actually wanted others to copy what he had done in order to be more like Christ. Boldness!
      Also, 2 Thess. 3:6-13 sounds a lot like today’s America. The study Bible notes say, ” Lazy Christian may simply have been exploiting wealthier Christians’ generosity in order to avoid work.”
      How can that be applied to the churches of today? Even the government system of today?

      • 

        I was going to leave a comment on this part of Thessalonians but you beat me too it! 🙂
        I think Paul lays out the real key in this passage in verse 12…”earn their own living.” I think an awful lot of people in both churches today and especially in this country rely on others to get the job done. Churches rely on a few to do the job of many. The same people perform specials in church, teach Sunday School and do outreach programs. In government you have people relying on government funding to help them when they really don’t need it (I’m not saying this is an all enclusive statement, there are some who desperately need the help). I think it’s in the person’s own heart and mind to help out in the church and to work for their own bread if you will. The church should make every effort to make helping excessibe, but its up to the person himself to put in the effort and only they can decide to do that.

  2. 

    I was challenged by several verses from these books. One being I Thess. 4:8 — “whoever disregards this, disregards not man but God, who give his Holy Spirit to you.” I struggle sometime worrying for my students future when I see some of them rejecting God’s Word. This verse at least takes some of the pressure of those of us who teach and preach.
    However, as a whole I was struck by the Second Coming of Jesus. It is the most prominent theme of I Thessalonians. The ESV study Bible says that it is mentioned in almost every chapter of this book. I was simply challenged to not be asleep. the Lord himself will descend from heaven. The day of the Lord is near. How near? A day? A year? A decade? A century? I am not sure and that’s the beauty of it all. Since, I do not know, I must live for him. For as “he who calls you is faithful” so should I be. (I Thess. 5:24)

  3. 

    The verses that really stood out to me are I Thess. 4:1-2. I particularly like the wording/language of these verses. Paul starts off in verse one by not only asking but URGING. This to me isn’t just a simple request, like a parent to a child of please come here, but of a parent forcefully telling their child to get out of the road or to come here because of some unforseen danger to them.
    He also urging them with the ultimate authority. Not words of me, but in the Lord Jesus Christ. The Father. To live and to please God…more and more!
    They were living and pleasing God. But this wording “more and more” makes it seem like there is never ever enough. In reality, there is never enough…we can always please God more…we as humans, children of Adam, sin every day. We always have that high bar and goal to strive for of Christ-like perfection.
    I have a personal goal to run a sub-20 5K. It’s a goal that I hope to break, hopefully sooner rather than later. After I break it I’ll set another goal to push myself towards. Christ-like perfection is like that sub-20. It is always there before me always thinking about it. I have to putin the hard work, I have to fight the battles (speedwork, long runs) and the races before me. Pressing toward that mark. Paul’s exhortation sounds like a coach telling his athletes to give more! run harder you have more in the tank! Christ wants 100% in the Daily training and spiritually track workouts we face. and we have to give it to him.

Leave a Reply or Comment

