The Only Opinion

thewildsofne —  July 30, 2012 — Leave a comment

This summer I began a, however long it takes, kind of study of Hebrews. Talk about a book that knows how to bring the Old and the New together! If you haven’t done a good long study on this book, don’t be afraid…get after it!

 

Recently, I was reading through Hebrews 2:7…

“You made him for a little while lower than the angels;

you have crowned him with glory and honor,”

Now, as a quote from Psalm 8:4-6 it doesn’t seem like a very spectacular, life changing verse. If we are in our normal Bible reading mode and we are just reading to maybe get a couple things to jump out at us in the text then this verse really is nothing new. However, the day I read this the Lord slowed me down and focused me in on two words: “glory” and “honor”

I have never been the Greek guy (I have some teachers who can attest to that) but I must say that after looking more in depth at these two words I came away with a much stronger grasp of the passage.

See, we can easily take away the fact that Christ was lowered down to our level to make a sacrifice for us. Many of us have become numb to that amazement. But as I studied these two words I was reminded of the seriousness of the sacrifice Christ made for me on that cross so long ago on Calvary.

Christ’s “Glory” is His eternal and perfect thought or opinion.

His “honor” is the rank or position He holds.

Christ is seated at the right hand of God (Eph. 1:20) and as such He is the ruler of us as His creation. As far as the opinion that Christ has, I have the choice to take it or leave it but that does not change the truth of His opinion.

Christ came to save me from my sins, yes, but He also made a way for me to have the power to follow through and follow after His opinion/thoughts (glory). Christ is my supreme ruler and because of His acts of compassion towards me why would I not want to follow His perfect thoughts!

So, as a believer in Christ I still have the choice every moment of every day to make choices that reflect my knowledge and belief in Christ’s glory or to ignore it and do life my way. After reading this great reminder in Hebrews 2:7 I think I will stick with running to my Savior Jesus Christ who is “crowned with GLORY and HONOR!”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply or Comment

