The Incomplete View of God

middleemberley —  May 1, 2012 — 2 Comments

I have been praying recently for opportunities to share the Gospel with my unsaved friends as I finish up my time in public school (If you ever think of me, I wouldn’t mind some prayer for this area!). Well, today I got an awesome chance to talk about God to multiple people. One of my friends quickly butted in, and he explained how it’s obvious that there is no “man in the sky.” Another friend couldn’t quite grasp the idea of man and a sin nature.

This made me realize just how far removed society is from any sort of complete understanding of who God really is and how we relate to him. Seeing as the Bible tells us more than even we as Christians can completely understand about God, it’s no wonder that the world has a hard time coming to grips with the God of the Bible when they have never read the Bible or had it explained in the first place! All they know is the stereotypical Angry-Man-in-the-Sky version of a God who is perfect, complex, and glorious beyond comprehension!

When I meet people like this it is clear that only the Spirit can get a hold of people and change their hearts. That being said, how do you think we as Christians can present the one TRUE God on a daily basis? Personally, I think real relationships are key. Prolonged exposure to someone who talks about, loves, and lives out God’s glory is something that I think can often really get the gears moving more effectively than a three minute conversation with someone on the street.

2 responses to The Incomplete View of God

  1. 

    I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I get frustrated with futile attempts to “witness.” We pass out tracts but I can’t say I have seen very much fruit with my very little effort I have put forth. But the key really is “living” for Jesus in an unsaved world. You have to have unsaved friends as well which draws me back to another quote I have been thinking about as well. “If we’re not careful, we’re going to become the Amish of the evangelical world.” Steve Hafler via Brian Fuller in BJU chapel

  2. 
    bobbyemberley May 4, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Yeah, relationships are key. You have to actually know lost people, and when you do they have to see that Jesus Christ is most important to you. I also just listened to a message titled The Power of the Articulated Gospel by Al Mohler. His point was that sometimes we can overemphasize attracting people to Christ through our lives that we never actually say anything. Yet, Romans 10 says “How will they hear without a preacher” (someone that speaks to them). But still, so many times established relationships are the inroad to that type of conversation.

Leave a Reply or Comment

