Forgotten God

jordantmoody —  April 30, 2012 — 2 Comments

I have been reading the book Forgotten God by Francis Chan lately. The book has opened my eyes to the Holy Spirit in ways I have never done before. He speaks of the Holy Spirit being the forgotten person of God in the Trinity. We know Father is sovereign and the Son died for my sins but the Spirit is seemingly unattainable and impersonal.

Practically speaking, when you read your Bible notice how many times the “Spirit” is mentioned. The prolific mention of the Spirit or Holy Spirit is astounding to me and I can’t believe that I have ignored God for so long. When we ignore the Holy Spirit we are ignoring God for we do not worship 3 gods but rather 1 God with three distinct persons.

Galatians 5:16 But I say, walk by the SPIRIT, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the SPIRIT are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. But if you are led by the SPIRIT, you are not under the law.

25 If we live by the SPIRIT, let us also walk by the SPIRIT

6:8 For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the SPIRIT will from the SPIRIT reap eternal life.

I also noticed this unique and powerful phrase, walk by the Spirit. Think about the phrase with me in these following verses.

  • Galatians 5:25 walk by the Spirit
    • (Gk. stoicheo) : means to walk behind a leader.
  • Galatians 5:16 But I say walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh
    •  (Gk.peripateō ) :   follow as a companion:  go, be occupied with, walk about with.

These two ideas combined set the scene for our daily life. We are to walk by the Spirit. 

Walking by the Spirit has multiple implications but one of the greatest ones is to be completely occupied with Him. Be consumed with God’s consuming fire. Follow Him as a friend and we will learn to not satisfy our fleshly lusts. After all our flesh is the very place the Holy Spirit chooses to reside. He lives in us and we have life through Him. Dwell on the Spirit today as you go about your day.

jordantmoody

Posts

I'm a Pastor/Teaching Elder at Hope Fellowship Church in New Ipswich, NH.

2 responses to Forgotten God

  1. 
    bobbyemberley May 4, 2012 at 12:39 am

    I’ve recently been reading a bit in II Corinthians 3. I think this chapter makes the case that the Spirit is THE unique element for the people of God in the NT age. All of the advantages of the new covenant that are listed in that chapter come to us through the Spirit. I downloaded that book on my kindle app on my Mac. Hope to read it at some point.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. I’m a little concerned about Francis Chan… « Learning to Be - May 15, 2012

    […] Forgotten God (hipfellows.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply or Comment

